GCA - Greyhound Clubs Australia

Office Bearers


Les Bein

President GCA

Les Bein is a high-profile breeder and owner in Queensland and after joining the committee of the Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club in 2014 took over as President when previous club president Dale Cartwright joined the Queensland Control Board. Cartwright had initially approached Bein to join the board.

Bein gave the club another business person involved in the running of the club as well as greyhound participant.

Gatton-based Bein is best known as the owner, with his wife Sandi, of Queensland and Australian Hall of Fame greyhound Bogie Leigh.

He was the manager of the John Deere machinery outlet in Gatton for a large part of his working life.

He later branched out into business for himself and operated three health food stores in Gatton, Toowoomba and Redbank Plains.

He sold the stores in 2009 and is now semi-retired, enjoying the time beinge involved with greyhound breeding and attending race meetings at Ipswich and Albion Park.

Bein has approaching his new role as President of GCA with his usual enthusiasm and love for the sport.


David Simonette

Executive Officer of the Australian Greyhound Racing Association

Since graduation in 1982 worked in racing and gaming related industries including Burswood Casino, WAGRA and RWWA.

He has been involved with Greyhound racing in a number of capacities including owner, trainer, breeder, WAGRA board member, WAGRA employee, writer, broadcaster and presenter of 6PR, RR 1206, Sky Channel, Channel 7, Access 31, various publications etc.

Retired as CEO of WAGRA in 2013 due to ill health after 10 years service at both RWWA and WAGRA including earlier positions in media/industry communications and operations manager roles respectively.

David's interest in greyhound racing spans back to 1974 co-inciding with the commencement of greyhound racing at Cannington in December of that year. He has enthusiastically followed the industry, first hand, since that date and has a good understanding of the industry both now and yesteryear. He has seen all the great greyhounds in the 30 year plus history of our sport and had dealings with many of its main players and characters.

Contact email: simonette7862@gmail.com

Greg Miller

Vice President GCA Greg Miller

Greg Miller joined the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club as CEO in 2011 after Matt Corby was appointed CEO of GRSA.

Miller has made quite an impact both locally and nationally, a long time participant in greyhound racing he brought a passion and great administrative ability to the job and with numinous innovative ideas Sandown has enjoyed a surge in significance under his dynamic leadership.

Miller is a former Australian rules football player and administrator. He played with South Melbourne in the Victorian Football League in the 70's. In 1980, Miller was made South Melbourne's recruiting officer. He was then CEO of North Melbourne from 1985 to 1989, and again from 1995 to 2001.

In 2002 he joined Richmond as Football Manager and remained in that role until he resigned during the 2008 AFL season.

Miller was one of the driving forces behind GCA and see's the Association as important way forward for all member clubs in all states.


Brenton Scott

Group Race Co-Ordinator of the GCA

Brenton Scott was appointed as Group Racing Co-Ordinator for the Australian Greyhound Racing Association in September 1995 a position he had held currently since that time. Mr Scott is based in NSW and is also the Executive Office of the NSW Greyhound Breeders, Owners and Trainers'' Association Limited.

Scott was a key player in the New South Wales alliance which was instrumental in overturning the State Government decision to ban Greyhound Racing. He worked tirelessly in a quest for a satisfactory concussion to what turned out a monumental error of judgement on the Government’s behalf. Scott was universally applauded for his work and passion at the sports most difficult time.      


Neil Brown

Publicity Officer GCA

Neil Brown was appointed as Publicity Officer for the Australian Greyhound Racing Association in September 2005. He brings to the role 50 years involvement in greyhound racing with 30 of those years spent in covering the sport in print, radio and television. He produces a detailed Press Release of every Group 1 and 2 Final, as well as a preview/promotional release for every Group 1 Race. He also reports on all GCA activities on radio and television.


Contact email: nbrown@agra.com.au