GCA - Greyhound Clubs Australia

Racing Results - 1940 VIC

Click here to go back to main selection page.

Listed Event

New Year Handicap 340yds circle
January 1, 1940. "Napier first prize 30 pounds
winner Sovereign ( All Cash x Gold Shade)
owner B R Hall
2nd Pixie's Yuba
3rd Andy Palmer
margins 5 x 3 time 19 1/2"

Noel Handicap 300yds straight
January 1, 1940. "Napier first prize 30 pounds
winner Tiler Boy (Silver Ghost x Brassey)
owner Carmody & Smith
2nd Andy Minda
3rd Transition
margins hd x hd time 16"

Christmas Handicap 250yds straight
January 8, 1940. "Maribyrnong first prize 50 pounds
winner Normaline (Tecoma Dan x Failure)
owner C O Haway
2nd Transition
3rd Blossom
margins 2 x 1/2 time 13 5/16"

Christmas Handicap circle
January 8, 1940. "Maribyrnong first prize 70 pounds
winner Blossom (Pastmaster x Kamora Lady)
owner W Sullivan
2nd Sovereign
3rd Kathleen's Hero
margins hd x 1 time 19 11/16"

Victorian Speed Championship straight
February 21, 1940. "Napier
winner Minda's Image (Pharminda x Tressida)
owner Mrs H Burnell"

Easter Gift straight
April 1, 1940. "Maribyrnong first prize 40 pounds
winner Gay Coast (Eastcote x Happy Moments)
owner J A D'Arcy
2nd Minda's Image
3rd Accountant
margins nk x nk time 13 5/16"

Easter Gift circle
April 1, 1940. "Maribyrnong first prize 40 pounds
winner Evonne (Mickaroo x First Pan)
owner R Melhurst
2nd Public Enemy
3rd Jew Verse
margins 3 1/2 x 3 time 19 3/4"

Autumn Handicap 340yds circle
May 1, 1940. "Napier
winner Ginger Roo (Mickaroo x Miss Pam)
owner H Mumford
2nd George William
3rd General Goldsmith
margins 5 x 1 time 18 15/16"

Victorian Elms 300yds straight
May 29, 1940. "Napier
winner Ambling Lady (Shining Gold x Belle Sara)
owner Mrs R Henry
2nd Mel Minda
3rd Lady Tresco
margins hd x hd time 16 6/16"

Victorian Guineas 300yds straight
June 8, 1940. "Napier
winner Bunton (Haydyn x Adornment)
owner R Smales
2nd Flash of Fame
3rd Starieta
margins 1 1/4 x hd time 16 4/16"

Grand National Hurdle 340yds circle
July 15, 1940. "Napier
winner Coronada (Achilles x Derring Do)
owner F E Littlefield
2nd Drunk Again
3rd Borashan
margin 1 x 5 time 21 1/4"

Victorian Hurdle Championship 340yds circle
August 12, 1940. "Napier
winner Brian Boru (Mystic Park x Nulla Nulla)
owner J G Kelly
2nd Borashan
margins time 21 3/4"

Commemoration Handicap 340yds circle
October 2, 1940. "Napier first prize 45 pounds
winner Dianate (Dandy Andy x Naughty Jenny)
owner E Bowen
2nd Peggy Spark
3rd Limbido
margins 2 x 2 time 19"

Show Cup circle
October 5, 1940. "Maribyrnong first prize 30 pounds
winner Stylish Nestle (Stylish Suits x Chiming Nestle)
owner S Trewhella
2nd Tipper's Joe
3rd Royal Ermine
margins 2 1/2 x 3/4 time 19 3/16"

Show Cup 250yds straight
October 5, 1940. "Maribyrnong first prize 30 pounds
winner Darley (Jowett x Mabel Verse)
owner P Malcolm
2nd Brilliant Andicate
3rd Miss Bernice
margins 1 1/2 x 2 1/2 time 13 9/16 "

Victorian Futurity 400yds straight
October 26, 1940. "Napier
winner Totara (Pharminda x Silvermane)
owner R Herbert
2nd Hussar
3rd King Pye
margins 5 x nk time 20 13/16"

Sandown Park Cup 440yds circle
November 8, 1940. "Sandown first prize 120 pounds
winner Totara (Pharminda x Silvermane)
owner R Herbert
2nd Lusson
3rd Peerless Prince
margins 2 1/2 x hd time 23 13/16"

Melbourne Cup 400yds straight
December 2, 1940. "Napier first prize 175 pounds
winner Peerless Prince (Joe's Pye x The Countess)
owner L Sargent trainer R Hampson
2nd Beau Garcon
3rd Hussar
margins 1 x 1 1/2 time 20 1/2"

Ballarat Cup
December 5, 1940. "Ballarat first prize 20 pounds
winner My Watch (Watch Micawber x My Ettie)
owner Mrs Bentley
2nd Peter's Image
3rd Edna's Lad
margins 1 1/2 x 2 time 31 7/16"

Christmas Cup
December 30, 1940. "Ballarat
winner Innispot (Innis Boy x Northern Gem)
owners McGlene & McPherson
2nd Silver Sham
3rd Whirling Footsteps
margins time"

Farewell Handicap 620yds circle
December 31, 1940. "White City
winner Ruckman (Final Choice x Only A Lady)
owner J Berry
2nd Speed Princess
3rd Entreaty
margins 2 x 3 time 35 1/10"